Friday’s Fave Five – April 24th, 2015

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 12.22.48 PMI guess I have not been around very much this past week. The prompts from The Daily Post have not been terribly inspiring and I’ve been busy with homeschooling the kids and whatnot. It’s always nice to check in and share 5 highlights of my week, though. If you would like to share some of yours, please visit Living to Tell the Story.

1. Making some changes to our homeschool again. We tried to love Easy Peasy All in One Homeschooling, but it just wasn’t for us. Rather there are parts we love and parts we don’t. So we have switched back to a couple of the subjects that we were doing before we started Easy Peasy and we are changing things up a bit within the program. The last couple of days have been much more enjoyable. Liam and I are reading The Jungle Book and that has been fun. I’ve moved Morgaine up a level in science and we’ve switched her math around again (she’s all over the place in her abilities in that one). We will have to homeschool through summer again. I’d set out with the plan to get a lot covered this year and take a good month long break (entirely), but I am not sure that is going to happen. I cannot believe that it getting close to the end of the school year again. It seems like it just started.

2. Selling enough curriculum that I could purchase a second hand instructor’s guide for Core F in Sonlight. I’ve been eyeing it since we started homeschooling, but I could never afford the whole thing. My son is (almost) getting old for it, but I think it will still be good with some add ons for him. I know the girlie will like it. They always tell me how much they miss the days when we were doing Sonlight.

3. A soap making success. While this soap will not be up for sale (as it is virtually impossible to recreate) it was fun to do. I turned a soap that was unpleasant to use (too much coffee on top thanks to my husband’s desire to help) into one that the children love. They are calling it my marshmallow soap.

IMG_4066

4. Making some potentially life changing decisions and feeling mostly good about it. There are moments, though, we I go “what on earth was I thinking?”, but I think it will be okay. I don’t intend to say more than that for now as there is a fair bit of stuff to work out yet. I’ve taken all the first steps, though.

5. Throwing out, selling, and donating stuff. I am tired of living with clutter and since I am the one that cleans I’ve made the executive decision to work with the kids to cut way down on the amount of stuff that is around. Considering that they are either doing school work, playing on electronic gadgets or outside there really isn’t a need for all the extra stuff they have. Obviously there’s stuff they love so we are going slow with it, but I do think that we will at least get rid of some stuff. I want to organize a proper homeschooling room with all our resources as we have so much neat stuff, but beyond that, we are letting go, baby.

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five – April 24th, 2015

  1. Yay for getting rid of STUFF!! As Americans, we just are way too materialistic! I’ve been doing the same thing and it feels great! Thanks for your nice comments over at my FFF. And I’d like to encourage you by getting on a date with your hubby…my husband and I have always been blessed that when the girls were young (they are 5 years apart) we had 3 Christian babysitters whom we totally trusted. We would only be gone 2-3 hours but those dates were so important. If you can’t afford a sitter, think about doing a child swap with another couple. There are many creative ways to “date” your husband when children are young. 🙂 I enjoyed reading about your homeschool curriculum…..glad you found things that work for you! Happy weekend

  2. I am a huge fan of Sonlight curriculum. My youngest simply bloomed when we started using it. It was worth every penny I spent on it. And hurray for the decluttering. I’d recommend Joshua Becker’s books and blog posts for help and inspiration. becomingminimalist.com He has a book titled Clutterfree with Kids.

Leave a Reply

