I’m Not Sure This Has Happened Yet

Today’s The Daily Post prompt asks us to describe a time where everything happened exactly like we hoped it would in All It’s Cracked Up to Be.

I’m not too sure that this has happened for me, yet. At least not in any real meaningful way. I’ve wanted to do a million different things, but have succeeded in very little. Whether that be because of financial difficulties, family issues, lack of support or whatever, it doesn’t matter. Everyone thought I had a ton of potential growing up and I had dreams of my own, but I have gotten to the point of just being tired with life. There was so much I wanted, but now I feel too old to pursue my dreams.

Being a Mum has turned out nothing like I expected (or maybe it’s what I expected, but not what I hoped for). It has its wonderful moments for sure, but I had different ideas about for how I wanted to raise my children and the outcome it would have. Homeschooling looks nothing like it did when we started. I like it then, but haven’t particularly enjoyed it fully in years. I’m slowly moving back to the way things were, but it is slow going some days.

I’ll link you to a blog post that I wrote about a day that turned out pretty darn good. I think it might have been one of the only days ever, where we went out as a family and came home without tears, yelling, or one of the children (or Mum) being completely miserable. I could use a few more of those close to perfect days, for sure. But, as always, I live and really, really real life that is quite far from perfect. I don’t really mind all that much, but I have to admit that I have stopped having real hopes and dreams for the family. It’s much easier to live without expectation and then I savour the good times even more.

One thought on “I’m Not Sure This Has Happened Yet

  1. Pingback: The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows: A Must-See For Lovers of Linguistics | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

