Gee, What Good Timing

Today’s The Daily Post prompt is It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World.

How do you communicate differently online than in person, if at all? How do you communicate emotion and intent in a purely written medium?

What timing! I actually just wrote a post on facebook explaining that I am stepping back from there.  Yes, it’s a text, text, text, text world and I feel it is isolating me even more from the real world. I think that, while I’ve met the majority of people I currently communicate with over the internet, it’s time to step back from the voyeuristic aspect of facebook. It’s such a weird phenomenon – constant contact with people, but only very rarely a feeling of real connection. It actually promotes a feeling of aloneness. A whole group of people swimming around on the internet in circles. It’s a medium to share, certainly, but people don’t need to know all, and actually, knowing all about others is quite uncomfortable.

In addition to that, I feel it has gotten to the point that our brains are changing. I used to be able to read for hours on end. A textbook would hold my attention for the whole day. Now, I find myself skimming articles (even if they are interesting) thinking just make your point already. I don’t like it, but I’ve learned to think in facebook statuses and twitter tweets. It’s not working for me anymore and I want real communization with people. I remember the days when letters were sent by mail and you had to wait for weeks for a reply. I also remember when e-mail was the go to thing. Yes, it was quick, but letters were still letters and there wasn’t pressure to reply right away. No one seems to write like that anymore. It’s all quick, quick, quick, quick comments, likes, and statuses.

I could write a whole lot more about intent and how to make that come through one’s written work, but I seem to have stumbled upon issues with that in the past little while, so I’m not the one to ask right now. I just do the best that I can, I suppose. I hope that is enough. I tend to mirror what everyone wants both online and in person, so my own real intent and emotions seem to get lost in the fray, but I’m always doing my best to give everyone what they want and that can be a bit exhausting. It’s a game I play online and in real life, and is a stumbling block to most of my communication (and likely my existence). It’s probably something to work on. I guess communication is just not one of my strong suits.

As far as purely in real life communication – I am notorious for not doing that. As I mentioned above, everyone I currently communicate with are folks that I’ve first met over the internet. I don’t go out into my community and try to meet people. I have some social anxiety and always worry that I am come off as weird or stupid. I think that the only way people will like me (or at least put up with me) is if they’ve gotten to know me over the computer screen. So when we change communities I join local online groups or I see people around town and think, hey, you might be cool and then I find them on facebook. Back before facebook, I joined local online playgroups on good ol’ Yahoo!. I’ve met awesome people this way that I never would have met as I don’t do real life, but I’m going to try to push myself a little bit more with that. I am pretty sure that people will not bite me and I do want to show my children that they don’t need a device to meet people!What a novel idea – walking out of the house, looking someone in the eyes, and saying hello!

Oh yes, it’s a text, text, text, text world and I don’t like it. I’m not sure we can change it, but I’ll certainly try.

One thought on “Gee, What Good Timing

Leave a Reply

