To Live By a Code – or Not

It’s been a few days again. I will certainly be writing more in the coming days as I’ve found that I do miss writing if I don’t do it. Here’s my reply to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Walk the Line.”

So, do I live by a code? Are there certain principles that rule my life?

No, not really. I’m not big on arbitrary rules and I don’t follow blindly, but that being said, some rules are meant to be followed. Don’t kill anyone (duh, but that icky, gigantic spider in the bathtub? Yes, you can kill that.). No stealing (duh, don’t take things that aren’t yours…..meh, except maybe a paperclip or opps, that pencil you forgot to give back from the office….hey, you meant to). Honesty is usually the best (there are times when you should probably keep your mouth shut. Just because you think it, doesn’t mean you have to say it).Be kind (when kindness is deserved, and most of the time when it doesn’t seem to be).

Beyond that (I am I hope I not missing any biggies here…if it’s not in my meant to be followed list and it sounds atrocious, there’s a fair chance it should have been in the list), I’m pretty flexible.

I eat healthfully – most of the time (but a treat, or an occasional week of treats is not forbidden).

Exercise is good (if it is minus a billion, my dogs may get nothing more than a quick walk to the end of the driveway and back, while I beg them to make it quick).

Sleep is optional (set bedtimes, unless they are my children’s and I am finished for the day, are not necessary).

We’re pretty “alternative” when it comes to raising our children, but really, I think we make good sense and have grown from our early years where anything the “experts” said went. The children are happy, healthy, super smart and social. There’s no code to raising children, whatever works, goes, I’ve found (with that whole be kind principle from above, you know?)

So, yeah, I walk the line – but I might stray just a wee bit from your line. It’s my line, after all. Now, please excuse me while I go and listen to some Johnny Cash.

Leave a Reply

