Writing

My son told me today that I should write.

I am not so sure.

He says that I would be good at it. We had a bit of a chuckle when I asked him what I would write about. We’d been watching a vlogger on youtube that posts a video EVERY day about his various adventures (or sometimes, lack there of). What would I write about? Doing the kitty litter and wiping poopy bums? Yeah, he agreed that those topics might not be the best idea, but that I could certainly find something interesting to write about.

I’ve spent the last weekend going through all my old e-mails (yes, from waaaaaaay back over 15 years ago right up the the present time). A topic that came up regularly was my writing and what I was doing with that. I guess that at one point I’d thought that I had something valuable to say and that I had the words to express those feelings. I’d also regularly write fiction and thought that maybe one day I’d finish a manuscript and maybe, just maybe, get published somewhere.

So many years have passed since I was that person. I pretty much gave up writing almost fourteen years ago when I met my husband. I’d tried from time to time, and of course, I’ve sort of kept a blog (or two), but I’ve felt that my writing was always strained and not very authentic anymore. I don’t really now what happened, but I repeated over and over again to people that the worlds just didn’t flow anymore.

Since I’ve been dealing with pretty significant insomnia, I’ve decided that maybe I would make use of those hours to post something on here as regularly as I can.

I’m warning you now that I am coming from a place of pretty significant isolation and I’m trying to get my stuff back together as it has been a rather rough go for the last, well, while. I’m not sure what is going to come out here. Maybe I’ll be authentic or maybe I’ll try my hand at creative writing. I really don’t know where I want to go with this. I do know that my son thinks that I have things that are worth saying, I think. Maybe he likes my daily musings, or maybe he thinks that if I am busy I’ll get off his back and let him program in peace. Who knows?

I just know that maybe it is worth giving it a go.

One thought on “Writing

  1. Pingback: So Much for Writing | Real Life: Unscripted

Leave a Reply

