Spring Randomness

Long time, no write.

Spring has arrived to lovely rural New Brunswick.

I found myself out flat on my back for a couple weeks earlier in the spring. It was a trial in patience and asking for help. Also a sure sign that I need to ask for help before I find myself in such a position again.

We had two birthdays this spring.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 6.23.25 PM

 

Ruadhan turned 4 and was celebrated with a construction workers’ cake and his very own real gardening tools. 

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 6.24.16 PM

Liam turned 11 and requested schnitzel, spatzle, and strud(z)el because he liked the sound of the three words together.  

Our dog keeps growing and getting herself stuck in places where she shouldn’t be going.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 6.34.40 PM

I’m not convinced she’ll ever learn. We still have to rescue her from under our bed a couple time a night. 

Morgaine continues to impress with her drawings.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 6.40.30 PM

This is her one passion and I cannot wait to see her develop her skills more. She’s eight. This is pretty impressive work. 

I took a soap making workshop and can home with some lovely handcrafted soaps.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 6.37.54 PM

Looks nothing like I anticipated, but I love it anyways (and the white gelled soap is soooooo nice on the skin). 

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 6.37.05 PM

Continued to play around with it since I got home and am loving the creative side of it. 

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 10.41.49 AM

Even contemplating selling soap in a little Etsy shop (it will likely be more successful than my short lived Young Living stint). If not, my little family will have enough soap to last a lifetime and you all know what you are getting for Christmas! 

We keep plugging along with homeschooling. We will certainly have to work through the summer this year as we’ve had a couple unexpected breaks where we’ve had to slow down significantly. Overall, we prefer learning together more in the summer anyways.

Mike continues to do well at his new job and has already earned one promotion (after being there about four weeks). He has also just been moved to a bigger, better office so is quite pleased with that. We are enjoying the stability of this position for sure.

All is pretty good in our little neck of the woods and I’ll update here from time to time as we go about our little lives.

One thought on “Spring Randomness

Leave a Reply

