Friday’s Fave Five – April 4th, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 12.22.48 PMYeah, it is April! I am just about ready for spring like weather and  maybe even sitting out on the deck under a blanket. We’ve still got a ways to go as we were hit with a blizzard ice storm for the first half of this week. Nonetheless, April means spring in my books and that’s good after a long winter.

I know that I said that I was taking part in the 100 Happy Days challenge, but I did not keep up with it. I am not tied to my camera phone and I went about a couple of happy days just living life only to realize when I got into bed that I didn’t actually take a picture of one of those happy moments. There were also a few days last week when I was feeling pretty far from happy. I’ve been finding the isolation on country living harder this year. Last year, my husband would leave for three weeks at a time and I would be stranded here, but there was always excitement when he’d come back and we’d get out together during the 4 or 5 days that he’d stay. I find it harder when he gets to go out to work each day and see people and I am trapped at home. I haven’t gotten to know anyone. I only ever leave the house when we have errands to run (about once every two weeks) and we don’t even go to the same stores or go to the city so we never, ever even have the same cashier. Anyways, I am sure all this will improve for me when the snow melts and I am able to spend much more time outside. At least then we will be able to see the neighbour more. I love winter, but this has been a long one (definitely worth investing in snowshoes next year :p )

Anyways, all that to say, that while I haven’t been very good at 100 Happy Days, there still have been little blessings in my week and I am happy to share them as part of my Friday Fave Five hosted by Living to Tell the Story.

1. Sharing a bottle of wine with my man, while brainstorming ideas that could help connect me with other people in a helping manner. I don’t think we even remotely came close to coming up with a plan, but it was an enjoyable experience and I have some starting points now.

2. This dog.

Screen Shot 2014-04-04 at 12.29.04 PM

 

She is a total pain in my rear and I just had to rearrange my bedroom because she’s taken to trying to eat through the gyprock in one area. She also only has interest in us while we are eating, but she is super bright and I’ve started training her again this week and that gives me great joy. She certainly loves doing tricks (or rather, so loves the food rewards). She also gets me outside playing in the snow each and every day and that always cheers me up. She’ll never compare to my sweet Penny, but she’s a pretty decent dog.

3. Chatting with a friend about Young Living essential oils (among other things). I used to be quite passionate about blending oils and creating massage oils and lotions. It is something I am looking at getting back into at some point and I think Young Living would be a wonderful supplier of oils.

4. Seeing the kids up and at it this morning (not on electronics), drawing elaborate art for their Dad’s birthday tomorrow. Shhh, don’t tell him! They rarely work quietly on projects together so this was nice to see. When the have free time they are usually either off on their own devices (or reading books) or running through the house crazy hyper and oh so loud so it was nice to see them doing something together and quiet. I now know that it can be done!

5. The sun coming in window right this very moment. We are setting up a picnic in the granny suite and plan to enjoy sitting in the sun even where there is still three feet of snow outside. It’s so lovely to see the blue sky after nearly a week of messy weather!

5 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five – April 4th, 2014

  1. Oh, it would be hard to still have snow this time of year. Glad you have some patches of sunshine to enjoy!

    It is hard to get connected in a new area – hope the weather improves enough to get out more.

    I think children’s art work is among the best of presents. 🙂

  2. Your dog is beautiful!!

    I love sunshine but I also enjoy rain because I love to curl up in my cozies with writing or a book or good project and not feel I have to be outside 🙂

    My husband and I long to move to the country some day. We live in town and we hate it. I grew up in the country so being in town stinks for me. I would welcome the isolation mostly because I like to be alone and am somewhat of a hermit but I can see where it would get to you after awhile. I will pray that God brings other women into your life with whom you can meet up with and spend time with and not feel so isolated and alone 🙂

  3. New reader coming over from Susanne’s blog. I love your fave’s. Happy birthday to your hubby! Hope you have a good week and that spring comes to stay!

  4. Love sunshine coming in a window. The warmth and the light is a joy. Beautiful doggy. Hashing ideas out with your loved one is a wonderful way to spend time together.

Leave a Reply

