100 Happy Days ~ Days 1-5

Last week I decided that I would take part in the 100 Happy Days challenge. The goal is to post a picture of something or someone that makes you happy every day for 100 days. I started by posting to Facebook, but decided that I wanted to keep my new profile a little bit cleaner so I’ve moved my postings to my blog and I plan to share my little bits of happiness every five days or so.

Day 1 – March 13, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 10.36.23 AM

A blizzard and hopefully the last one of the season. It was a good excuse to call a Pyjama day and lounge around on the bed (handy to have a bed in the living room) and read books and watch TV. I did not even have to shovel as we have the best neighbours in the world. 

Day 2 – March 14th, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-03-15 at 12.29.43 PM

A dog in her element. I usually pretty much like winter and I cannot wait for next year when I hope to get snowshoes so we can use the trails behind the house more. She’ll be older and more fit for this type of exercise at that time as well as she is giant breed and supposed to not take long walks until they are older. I’ll admit that just taking her out this year has been challenging. I hope I’m not getting too old for winter! We also only leash her (not even allow her on a lead) as she is NOT well trained to come and we fear her getting loose so I cannot play with her like I would like. Hopefully we’ll have lots of time to work together this summer and be all set for next year. 

Day 3 – March 15th, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 7.49.00 AM

He is such a little blessing (for the most part, ha). He was being especially cute this evening. Running around saying that it was the best movie night ever. I don’t know if it was the beautiful, colourful platter of veggies I made or the fact that I actually remembered to make popcorn. All I know is that he was absolutely thrilled. We watch Turbo and it was a pretty  fun little movie and appropriate for the children (all too often we have to turn off what we find on Netflix). 

Day 4 – March 16th, 2015

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 7.45.56 AM

Our take at an Irish meal. Crubeens and cabbage sautéed in bacon fat (or our take on them anyways. We couldn’t find trotters so we ended up use hocks, but it still turned out good and rewarmed well and I ended up out of commission, more or less, after preparing these and not so terribly hungry. It made a wonderful breakfast the next morning with all that bacon, though!

Day 5 – March 17th, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-03-18 at 10.36.41 AM

Company while taking a mid afternoon nap. I’ve been rendered somewhat anemic and was feeling it yesterday  and it was happy to have the company of Mama and Cyndi while I took a power nap. The dog rarely ever lays down with us, so it was special. Morgaine also cuddled her “baby” pet rock into me. I was well surrounded!  

As a side note, the moon also made me very, very happy last night, but I couldn’t get a picture that did it justice. I guess yesterday was a happy day!  

 

 

Leave a Reply

