Three Things Thursday ~ February 27th, 2014

This week I am combining Three Things Thursday with Throw Back Thursday as I have so many pictures to share that I never get around to and besides, I think pictures always add a little something to a blog post. If you would like to share three random tidbits about yourself please join me over at Heidi’s Head.

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 1.34.48 PM 1. I absolutely love the beach. I grew up near the ocean (or at least the St. Lawrence River) and my father used to take me to the beach relatively regularly when I was a child. We built my Mom’s dream house right on the water and it was really sad when we had to live there. It was so nice to look out of my bedroom window and see the water. We’ve chosen where to live in relation to how near water we are. We are not on the water now, but it’s only about a 10 minute drive to get to the beach (though we haven’t really explored it since we moved here). Unfortunately, I married someone that isn’t really much of a beach person at all so we don’t spend near as much time near the water as I would like. I am just glad that he humoured me and moved the family east. I think there are times when he would have chosen to move westward towards the prairies, but I am not sure what my ocean loving soul would do with all that land and no water to be seen!

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 1.51.29 PM2. I’ve been trying to recreate these chocolate chip cookies for about 3 years now. They were beyond wonderful and I have not been able to get them to turn out the same since. I have followed the same recipe time and again. I’ve studied the fine points of making the perfect chocolate chip cookie and I’ve tried develop my own recipe time and again, without the success that I am looking for. It’s been quite discouraging and may not be very good for my waistline. If you have what you consider to be the perfect recipe, please share in the comments below!

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 1.52.06 PM 3. I absolutely adore living history. I would love to get a job at a historical site for the summer. The clothes and the simplicity. I think that families would get so much from it if they could come into one of these sites and live life like back then for a week or so. If anyone knows of historic sites like this, please let me know, as I could imagine taking the kids (further on down the line) on a road trip for an experience like this. Until then, we will enjoy having others bring history alive for us. I cannot wait to visit Le Pays de la Sagouine later this year to learn more about the Acadian culture as we are in the heart of Acadian New Brunswick .

 

Leave a Reply

