Wednesday Hodgepodge ~ February 26th, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 3.34.07 PM Wednesday is upon us again and I have to say that I am enjoying my new ritual of coffee and (somewhat) quiet on Wednesday mornings when I write my answer’s for From This Side of the Pond’s Wednesday Hodgepodge. I put on some youtube videos (this week’s musical playlist stems from The Offspring as my starting point…..I assume I’ll live though my 90ies Alternative moments as I write today!) and write and the kids, generally, leave me alone. So here goes!

1. What is something you’ll never forget about the age you are right now?

I’m finally feeling my age. I’ve always felt much older than others my age as we kind of fast tracked things with children, a house and grown up responsibilities from well, a young age. I do believe that I’ve stopped “aging” now and am beginning to feel like I fit in with the world around me. I’ve felt this since hitting my 30ies, but I really think that I’ll really bloom into my skin in my 40ies, though I’ll work towards it until then. I’ve wanted to be in my 40ies most of my life so I’m looking forward to it!

2. What’s a household chore you’ve never done? How have you managed that???

It’s not a household chore, per say, but I’ve never pumped gas. My father showed me once, the day before I went to take my driving test and that’s the only time I have ever done it. I don’t drive a lot, but when I do I make sure that my husband has filled the tank in advance! The one time that I’ve ever run low when I was out, I actually drove all over town looking for a station with service!

As far as everything else, I am the person home, I am the one that does the work. I even learned how to do all the things my husband takes care of  last spring when I was taking care of this place on my own. I am pretty proud to say I know how to bleed a furnace now!
3. Does nature shape our personalities more than nurture? Explain?

I think in general it is a delicate interplay of both of these in most cases.


4. Friday (February 28th) is ‘Something on a Stick Day’…funny because Zoanna over at A Penchant for Pens recently sent me an idea for a question relating to this topic. What’s your favorite food eaten on a stick?

I would have to say the toasted marshmallow, but mostly because of the joy that roasting marshmallows brings to my children on the rare occasion we’ve done it. Shh, I don’t really like marshmallows all that much. 

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 10.41.04 AM

Ah, they were soooooooooo little!

5. Which of your five senses do you treasure most, and why?

I am going to go with sight, I think. I am pretty sure that I would find it very challenging to live without either of my senses, but I get a lot of pleasure out of beauty and nature and not to be be able to see God’s wonder would be so difficult. I had genetic testing done last year and it showed that I have an extremely high odds of experiencing macular degeneration as I age (I have every known gene/genetic mutation that is associated with macular degeneration…the graph was quite sobering). I will certainly treasure my vision, knowing that one day there is a possibility that it will be affected. I am glad to have this information available to me so that I can keep on top of appointments with my optometrist (sooooooooo overdue). I also use my vision to help me follow conversations in loud situations ( I hear fine, I think, but I tend to have a hard time following/processing conversations when I cannot see people’s lips) so I think I would struggle with hearing, or at least understanding, if my vision was affected. 

6. What’s the best music, theatre, or sporting venue you’ve been to? What made it great?

I have not very been to many venues (probably comes with the responsibilities mentioned in #1 and how we’ve often lived far away from family and support.

We did go see Dennis de Young at Place des Arts in Montreal. It was a smaller theatre (and my first and only musical experience)  making it quite intimate. Dennis de Young was also a very engaging performer and my husband and I quite enjoyed our evening together. I think it will be an evening that I will always remember and I’ll be thankful that my friend offered up the tickets to us last minute.

7. It’s the last week of the month…in five words or less bid adieu to your February.

See you next year, February!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Speaking of venues, I have to mention the Feis an Eilein in Christmas Island! The venue isn’t much (an old fire hall), but the musicians as just wonderful and we enjoyed the Summer concert series every year. There’s nothing like talking herbal remedies with Mary Jane Lammond (and then having her compliment my “lovely family” at the end of the show) or chatting with a performer’s mother while washing up in the bathroom and having her compliment and encourage my daughter to keep dancing. It was also lovely to run into other regular attendees at other Cape Breton events over the years. We absolutely adored emersing ourself in the Gaelic culture when we live in Cape Breton and it is probably the thing we miss most, by far, about the area. If you are even in Cape Breton in the area you have to check it the Feis ab Eilein’s summer concert series !

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge ~ February 26th, 2014

  1. I live in NJ and we’re not allowed to pump our own gas. I can, but the law won’t let us, which in the middle of a brutally cold and snowy winter, is fine with me : ) I like Dennis DeYoung…Styx takes me back to college, but I really love his song Desert Moon. Its stirs up so much nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

