Wednesday Hodgepodge ~ February 19th, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-02-12 at 3.34.07 PMI’m quite shocked that it is Wednesday again already. I had every intention of blogging more frequently over the past week, but plans don’t always work out. Anyways, I quite enjoyed last week’s Wednesday Hodgepodge so I am back for more fun this week. If you would like to participate be sure to visit From This Side of Pond and link on up with your answers to the following questions.
1. What’s the biggest change since your childhood in the way people think or act?

  I get the impression that people don’t take pride in their work anymore. They go and do the bare minimum they need to in order to get by. Living with someone who gives his all to whatever he is working on it makes me so sad that his hard work is not awarded any more that that of people who basically do as little work as they can. My husband recently changed jobs and several of his coworkers begged him to stay (and to write letters to the organizations higher up because they wanted opportunities to advance and thought that if my husband complained it might help them all). No, not his battle. Anyways, people want things handed to them and they don’t want to work for them. My children are the same way at times, and it drives me batty. I was such a perfectionist growing up and got my sense of worth from the good work I did, and I hate to see my children (and others) do just enough. I want them to feel good about the work that they put in and not just do it so they have free time or whatever. It’s a constant battle for me. 

I just want to see people work hard and take pride in their work. I don’t know, I look at people and think that they would just feel so much better to do a good job than just a mediocre one, but I don’t know. It makes me feel good to know that I’ve done the best that I can and I think the world would be a better place if people put in a little more effort. The idea of hard work seems to have been lost on the current generation (generally speaking). 


2. The Olympic Biathlon involves cross country skiing broken up with two or four rounds of target shooting. Which part of that would stress you out more? Or would you love them both equally?

Oh Lord, I used to cross country ski with a couple of my teachers when I was in elementary school. I was quite horrible and felt half dead the next day. It really is exercise. I’m not big on shooting things either, but I might take it over long distance cross country. I’d likely be better at it. However, there are cross country skis in our shed (the house we live in was repossessed  so a fair bit of stuff got left behind) and I’ve been meaning to pull them out and give them a go. We’ll see if I have more endurance now than I did at 10!

3. February is National Canned Food Month…what is your most purchased canned food item? What was in the last can you opened?

Hmm, we do not do a lot of canned foods. We pretty much stick to canned kidney beans (that’s the last thing we’ve had canned) and canned chickpeas (for hummus, otherwise I use dried). I do have canned tuna (for the first time in years) that I plan on opening for lunch today.  

4. What river (anywhere in the world) would you most like to cruise?

I would never go on any kind of cruise (ugh, I cannot imagine being stuck on a boat with an outbreak of norovirus or something…..pretty much my worse nightmare), but if I had to choose a river, give me the Nile, I think. I’d really like to do the Egypt thing. 

5. It’s the middle of the night and you can’t sleep…what do you do?  Count sheep? Toss and turn? Watch television? Or do you get up and do something productive?

I know insomnia well. It tends to visit me frequently. Currently, I just lay there and try to be as still as possible as my toddler curls right into me and the last think I want to do it wake him up. I used to be a wonderer so I’d get up and roam around the house and pick up the kitchen a bit, maybe write an e-mail or blog post, but now my husband sleeps in our main living area so yep, I lay there and worry. I have been known to sign 99 bottles of beer on the wall in my head, though! I’ve never made it to zero, but most of the time it’s because I’ve gotten distracted!  

6. How important is keeping your cool?

Vitally important, but I struggle with anger every single day. It’s not pretty and I have a lot of self loathing for myself because of it.   

7. I’ve got white stuff on the brain so why not run with it? White lie, wave the white flag, white knuckle it, white wash a situation, or white as a sheet…which phrase could most recently apply to your own life in some way?

I’m going with white as a sheet just because I’ve been having some medical issues and am likely getting quite anemic, but yeah, not quite the meaning of the term as it isn’t a fear based reaction, however, I do feel rather pale! (oh, yeah, white knuckling it is good, too….been watching the Olympics and I get that anxiety for them, it seems. I’ve spent so much time holding my breath over the last ten days! 

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I don’t really have much to say this week. This is the first time I’ve felt winter to be a hassle and I am very much looking forward to the sun gaining some warmth in the coming weeks. I think being a little under the weather has left me feeling the cold a little bit more than I normally do and I just feel like the sun would melt away some of the fatigue that I seemed plagued by this winter. I think I’ll leave you with a Beatles song this week! 

Leave a Reply

