Our Introduction to Further Up, Further In

Back in the day, many moons ago, when the whole family found homeschooling fun and inspiring we were using a literature base complete curriculum. At the time, we choose Sonlight, but we currently are unable to buy a nearly thousand dollar curriculum (or two) to meet the needs of all our children. So, at the beginning of the year, I went in search of a less expensive option. I knew that my friend had just started using Further Up, Further In based on the Chronicles of Narnia and after considering it and researching for a couple days, I decided to take the plunge. The children and I took some time to look at the topics covered and decided that it would be a pretty good fit for us.

When the book arrived, I was shocked at the amount of material given to cover in a day. I did not feel that there was any way that my children would enjoy or absorb the material at such a pace, so this week we used the Day 1 template for three days. It’s suggested that you pick and choose what you wanted to do, but I felt most things had value and I assume that I will feel that way about most of the curriculum.

This time only, I will be sharing what we did for our work, but I will not cover it in detail like this in the future because well, the activities are pretty much the course and I don’t think it would be fair to the author/publishers to share online in this much detail.

The course is divided into 7 units (one for each book) and each book should take about a month (or two, or three in our case *lol*). This week we focused on Chapter 1 of the Magician’s Nephew. Tuesday found us looking up our vocabulary in the diction, each child taking a turn dictating to me while I copied the definition into their workbook. We then gave examples of the words and then went ahead and read the chapter, which thankfully all three kids enjoyed (Liam had read the series, but Morgaine had only heard The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and she was much longer). After lunch we watched a couple mime acts on youtube, as pantomime was one of the vocabulary words.

The best pantomine it the world, apparently. It was pretty neat.

The older two kids then did a mime act from one of the scenes in the chapter. It was really too cute and I wish I’d taken a video. I am surprised at how silent they were! Of course, Ruadhan wanted in on the action so he and Morgaine acted out Little Red Riding Hood.

We then did our bible studies which was on the subject of temptation. I had to bite my old school Catholic upbringing tongue when both my children took a comical approach to creating bookmarks imploring them to avoid temptation.

On Wednesday we focused on literature and read Sherlock Holmes’ The Hound of the Baskervilles and the first chapter of Treasure Island. Liam wrote a short biography of C.S. Lewis and then in the afternoon we cuddled up with blankets and watched 1939 film of The Hounds of the Baskervilles starting Basil Rathbone.

On Thursday Liam researched the vacuum cleaner and shared his finding with us, including an outline of the various different types of vacuums out there. We then watched a few vacuum (hoover) youtube videos and the children had a blast naming the different types.

Morgaine and I learned about fountain pens and she had a chance to use one (including installing the ink reservoir). We also looked briefly at wax stamps and then the family got together and made pretend quill pens.

Screen Shot 2014-01-29 at 1.32.35 PM

Liam, Morgaine and Mommy made pretend quills. 

Screen Shot 2014-01-29 at 1.32.51 PM

Ruadhan made a ghost! 

(I’m sure we did more this day, but my mind is fuzzy right now….both children did their math and science, but I think there was one more Further Up, Further In topic covered.)

We look forward to continuing on with this course over the next several months. For more information please visit Cadron Creek  (however, if you are Canadian I suggest researching and purchases from a different supplier as they tried to charge me 75 dollars (more that the curriculum) for SHIPPING).

3 thoughts on “Our Introduction to Further Up, Further In

  1. Lovely! Good wrap up. I was wondering, if you’ve switched to LWW first, what day are you on now? We’ve done the first week, then when I started work, everything got topsy turvy and I’ve not really applied myself to it since. We are two days in… (chapters in). I am hoping to get some done today, chapter 3, and then on Friday Chapter 4. Then I really DO hope to start doing things on plan… or at least two chapters a week… with lots of time for activities!

    • I only heard from the author of the curriculum late last evening and then did some on my own research and came to the conclusion that I would indeed restart using LWW first. So we are starting today after getting two chapters of The Magician’s Nephew done already. I think Day 1 will be quick and we may get it finished today. Day 2 should be relatively quick, too. So I would think we should be able to get to the end of Day 3 next week. I cannot imagine ever doing more than 2 chapters a week. I think we may eventually end up on the same schedule. How fun!

  2. Pingback: Friday’s Fave Five ~ February 28th, 2014 | Real Life: Unscripted

Leave a Reply

