Goal Planning Monday – Week 97

Welcome to Goal Planning Monday!

If you are new here be sure to check out the guidelines before you join in. We would love to have you! If you are returning, I hope you had a good week. Thank you for stopping in and sharing with us. Be sure to keep sharing with your friends as we all could use some accountability from time to time! I hope to see some new members this week. Keep spreading the word as we could all use some encouragement and support as we go about achieving our goals. If you have a moment get sure to hop over and see what others are doing.

Well, my dear friends, it seems I took a mental health break last week and did not come back with any goals. I think it as a more of a go with the “new” flow kind of week and I needed to see how it worked out before even attempting to set goals.

What I’ve learned is that:

  1. Homeschooling the way I want takes A LOT of time.
  2. The house, as a result, will NOT be as clean as I want it to be.
  3. I need to schedule a one room declutter/clean up each week to try and stay on top of things (it will be a goal).
  4. I need to schedule time into my day (in the day time) to work on my studies. I’m currently taking two courses from coursera.org because I desperately needed to do something purely for myself. One of them is easy, the other, more challenging (I think).
  5. Thinking the kids are actually going to help me get things accomplished during “chores with Mom” time is foolish.
  6. I suck at schedules.
  7. I’ll absolutely need to schedule GPM time even if I hate schedules
  8. I will get to learn to work with schedules.

So, here are my goals for the week, with these realities in mind.

1. Have patience while “training” my kids to help out more around the house. They’ve been helping for a while but I’m still not seeing the results I would like.
2. Make a list with pictures for Liam for his biggest chore. He should not need me to hold his hand.
3. Declutter the office work area. Both my husband and I are taking classes this winter. It would be lovely to have a cozy place to work together.
4. Spend 30 minutes (at the VERY minimum EVERY day) focusing on my studies. Plan to have at least 3 actual scheduled study times a week that aren’t “when I get a moment” study breaks, as sometimes those moments don’t materialize.
5. Go to bed when I am tired. I’ve been doing pretty well with this but it isn’t second nature, yet.
6. Sneak out of bed before the baby at least 3 times this week. It is nice to get the day started and then have him come downstairs to join me.
7. Do at least one Christmas craft with Morgaine this week.
8. Make lots of time to cuddle with the girl. I don’t do that very much and she craves it. It would likely go quite a ways to heal our relationship as it has its challenges.

3 thoughts on “Goal Planning Monday – Week 97

  1. I suck at schedules too. I try, but it is just not in my nature. I think your goals sound great – I am thinking I need to schedule my study time too, as in making an appointment on my calendar for when I’m doing it. Right after I said I suck at schedules. LOL

  2. Schedules are my nemesis, too! As soon as I think I can get my timing organized, along comes some event and my entire house of cards collapses!

  3. I used to use a schedule. That did not work for us. I never, not one day, achieved sticking to the schedule. We do much better with a flow for the day. A list of things to accomplish with the timing left more open. Now that my kids are older there is no schedule at all, except for my son’s work schedule. His work schedule throws a loop into each week as we don’t know his schedule until Sat. night. Makes it difficult to schedule other things like Dr. appointments when you don’t know when he will need to go to work and my husband has to take him back and forth.

    Training your kids to help around the house is crucial. I could not have made it without my children’s help. Because you must spend time planning and helping them with their education they need to pitch in and help with the house. If they were in school all day they would not be making messes in the house and you would have lots of time to clean. As it is it must be a family affair to clean and everyone much pitch in. It does take time, but in time they will be a big help to you, and a benefit each of them as they learn skills they will need for keeping their own home one day.

    Good for you advancing your own studies. I too do that, but through personal reading. I hope you have great success and enjoy your classes. God Bless, have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

