A New Passion

Well, the passion certainly isn’t new but the ability to truly follow it hasn’t presented itself until this past week. I believe it was Wednesday when Mike passed me a bag from Staples where he’d gone to buy computer paper. Thinking nothing of it, I put it by my feet in the car and continued on our way. A few minute later, Mike asks, “Did I buy the right paper?”

I look at him and say, “I’m sure you did.”

We get out at another store and when we get back in, he asks, “Are you sure we got everything we need at Staples?”

“Yes, I’m sure you must have gotten everything.” I reply.

“Come on, could you just look in the bag?”

So I do, and there it is, the camera I’ve been dreaming about for four long years. It isn’t top of the line anymore. There have been a dozen newer models since but it there, in my car, is  THE DSLR camera of my dreams and I am over the moon! I get home and stick in on a shelf because I am terrified to take it out of the box. I look at it a couple times. I gingerly take the instruction manual out of the top of the box. Finally, at 11pm I brave pulling it out of the box. And, oh, isn’t is lovely. It’s everything I could have asked for. I think I am in heaven. I take a couple shots and they turn out just like I imagine they would. It’s unbelievable. It’s amazing. And it is so much FUN!

I won’t post too many photos here tonight, but you can be sure that I’ll be back with many more (there’s nothing like GOOD pictures to inspire a blogger….yes, I know what I said in my intro, but I guess I was lying….I’ll still be real and unscripted, though!)

I love photos where sun and shadows fall across the face but I haven’t figured out how to get them inside where the flash is too harsh and drowns out the sunlight so we had to take it outside.

Flowers, obviously. With the macro setting and paper to diffuse the bright light.

Shooting with a zoom lens but the children weren’t doing anything too interesting.

CATS!

 Tricky subjects, I must say.

I’ve set up a couple goals for myself and I’ve gotten a few books from the library so you’ll be seeing more of me fooling around with my new little gadget. I’d love to know what you think and hear any feedback you might have because I am very eager to learn and I am sure that there is so much more I could do.

Leave a Reply

