Gluten Free Coconut Apricot Squares in a Pie Pan

Over the last little while I have been researching gluten and  the effects it can have both on the gut and mind. Both Liam and I have some “issues” in both of these areas and others and are looking into seeing if we might be intolerant to gluten.  Liam’s pediatrician noticed several markers that make him think that Liam may indeed have celiac disease (I don’t think that we’ll get that diagnosis but you never know….it would help explain some of the various medical needs that he had when he was very young). While we are waiting for results, I’ve been playing around in the kitchen with various gluten free flours. I really, really wanted to love coconut flour but I tried a few recipes (my own creations not with a recipe) without a whole lot of success. I liked them well enough but my children could not stand the texture. Desperate for help (yet not wanting to turn to a recipe) I took to the internet and asked some friends in the know and they said, “Eggs. Lots of eggs. And, let it sit.” So with that in mind, here’s my newest creation.

Note: you want to make this 24-48 hours before you plan to eat it. Also, if you don’t like the crust for some reason, add an egg. It cuts down on the not “real” flour texture!

Ingredients:

2 cups of dried apricots.
6 cups of water

1 1/2 cups coconut flour (if you don’t like the texture of the coconut flour I am sure you could cut our some and add a different type but perhaps you’d need to cut out an egg)
3 (extra) large eggs
1/2 cup of butter (I don’t measure)
1/2 of sweetener of choice (I use whatever I happen to have out…this time it was Sucanat)
1 tsp of vanilla
1 1/2 tsp of baking soda

coconut and brown sugar for sprinkling

1. Soak apricots in water over night 8-12 hours so that they plump up nicely.

2. Tranfer to saucepan and simmer until you get a jam like consistency. I the proceeded to mash up the apricots with a fork. you could puree it in a blender. I like having a few bigger pieces. You’ll actually want this to be a little wet when you use it so you may have to add a little water (I sat mine in the fridge for a couple days before I used in and then I just stirred in some extra water). Set aside while you do the next section.

3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

4. Combine butter (softened) and sugar until light and fluffy.

5. Add eggs one at a time and then add vanilla.

6. Combine coconut (and other) flours with baking soda.

7. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Mix well. You are going for a slightly sticky cookie dough texture here. You may need to add more flour or a little water (or an egg). I don’t measure and  I certainly am not an expert when it comes to coconut flour!

8. Pat cookie mixture into a greased cake/pie pan (or 8 x 8 square pan).

9. Pour apricot mixture into pan and sprinkle with coconut (and brown sugar/sucanat/turninado sugar if you like).

10. Bake for 20 minutes (approximately….guess what? I don’t time either….perhaps use this recipe at your own risk!)

11. Cool in refrigerator for 12-24 hours (but really, the longer the better).

My husband was thinking it would be really good to flambe the top so you are more than welcome to do that (it is your desert after all). We chose to eat it as breakfast and so can you (it isn’t so very sweet and the apricots are packed with healthy goodness). I hope you’ll enjoy it. If you do try it I would LOVE to hear how it turned out (even if it was awful) and any changes you made. I’m all new to this and I’m learning so let me know what you think and perhaps you can teach me a thing or two!

 

Leave a Reply

