The 5 Love Languages of Children – Review and Giveaway

Last week, on my old blog, I told you about the book The Perfect Pet for Peyton. It was the perfect introduction for children to Gary Chapman’s 5 Love Languages. Well, I also received The 5 Love Languages of Children and I highly recommend it for parents of children of all ages.

From the publishers:

To be their best, children need to feel loved. But if you and your child speak different love languages, your affection might get lost in translation, affecting the child’s attitude, behavior, and development. Dr. Gary Chapman’s groundbreaking Five Love Languages series has helped millions of couples communicate love more clearly, and Dr. Ross Campbell M.D. has applied the innovative system to children as well. The 5 Love Languages of Children gives practical suggestions for learning how your children interpret love and creating a sense of security in which they can thrive.

I love The 5 Love Langauages and this book about how to apply the 5 love languages to your children came at a good time. I’ve been working with my husband to convince him that some of the behavioural issues we are having with our older children is because they are not feeling our love. There were certain examples in the book that hit the nail on the head. Over the winter months, with my husband’s seasonal work and the various illnesses we’ve been plagued with, our son (who’s love language is quality time) has started to feel very left out. We love him but we haven’t tried hard enough to connect with him where he feels it most (because there just isn’t enough time). This book helped me see how vitally important it is to make the time and I hope to get my husband to head certain sections of the book as well.

This book also had me dealing with some of my own “issues”. I’ve always have an issue with gifts (and even words of affirmation) because to me it seems like you are trying to bribe your child to behave so I had to really open myself to hearing more about these two ways of showing love. This was also important for my family as my daughter very much feels love through gift giving and receiving. She constantly crafting for others, is thrilled about other people’s gifts at parties, and has a collection of little trinkets she was given in her room. It’s hard for me to love in this way but this book has given me practical suggestions on how to.

I recommend this book to all families with children so I hope that you will take a look and find out more about Gary Chapman and his 5 Love Languages.

The 5 Love Languages: http://www.5lovelanguages.com/

There’s more good news! I’ve been offered a copy of The 5 Love Languages for Children to giveaway to one lucky reader. For your chance to win all you need to do is leave me a comment telling me you would like to win (there’s issues with commenting on my blog. You may have to click the comment with facebook icon if you have an account there). 

 “Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
5 thoughts on “The 5 Love Languages of Children – Review and Giveaway

  1. I would love to win it too- I have read the regular one and I would love to see some ideas on how to bring that information in to raising my kids. Your review was great – I loved hearing about how this is helping your family!

Leave a Reply

